Sacred Selections Episode 1

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , ,
On this episode: C.E.F. Weyse's Christmas and Easter Cantatas and Beethoven's Missa Solemnis

Christoph Ernst Friedrich Weyse - Christmas Cantata No.3 - Jubler, o jubler i salige toner (1836)
Work: Christmas Cantata No.3, DF 26 - Jubler, o jubler i salige toner (1836)
Libretto: Caspar Johannes Boye

Chorus: Jubler, o jubler i salige toner (Allegro con spirito) 00:00
Christoph Ernst Friedrich Weyse
Christoph Ernst Friedrich Weyse
Terzetto: I Bethlehem hans vugge star (Poco andante) (soprano I, contalto, tenor) 02:38
Chorale: O himmelbarn med guddomsand 05:26
Duetto: Du de vise kom at hylde (Andantino) (soprano I, tenor) 06:53
Quintetto: Eder er i dag en frelser fød (Andante maestoso - Allegro moderato - Tempo primo) (Soprano I & II, contalto, tenor, bass) 09:09
Quartetto: Halleluja, vi hore det evangelium (Andantino) (Soprano I, contralto, tenor, bass) 14:50
Chorus: Jubler, o jubler i salige toner (Allegro con spirito) 17:45

Soloists: Bodil Arnesen, soprano I - Dorthe Elsebet Larsen, soprano II - Kirsten Dolberg, contalto - Peter Grønlund, tenor - Stephen Milling, bass.

Chorus: Tivoli Concert Choir
Orchestra: Tivoli Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Michael Schønwandt

Christoph Ernst Friedrich Weyse - Easter cantata No. 1 'Hil dig, hil dig, livets morgenrøde' (Hail o hail, thou dawn of life arising).

Bodil Arnesen, soprano. Dorte Elsebet Larsen, soprano.
Kirsten Dolberg, alto. Peter Grønlund, tenor. Stephen Milling, bass.

Tivoli Concert Choir (Chorus master: Morten Schuldt-Jensen.

Tivoli Symphony Orchestra.
Michael Schønwandt, conductor.

Christoph(er) Ernst Friedrich Weyse (5 March 1774 -- 8 October 1842) was a Danish composer.
Weyse was born at Altona, now in German territory, but Danish at the time the composer was born. He studied music with Johann Abraham Peter Schulz in Copenhagen. In 1794, he was appointed organist at the Reformed Church in the city and served in the same post at the Vor Frue Kirke after 1805. In 1819, he was appointed Court composer. He died in Copenhagen.
He was best known for his vocal works, which included numerous singspielen, a setting of the Te Deum and of the Miserere, a cantata, and above all, lieder after poems by Matthias Claudius, Johann Heinrich Voss and Ludwig Heinrich Christoph Hölty. He also composed seven symphonies and numerous pieces for solo piano.

Jascha Horenstein: Beethoven Missa Solemnis in D Op.123

Teresa Stich-Randall,Soprano
Norma Procter,Contralto
Richard Lewis,Tenor
Kim Borg,Bass
BBC Chorus BBC Symphony Orchestra

1.Kyrie:Assai sostenuto.Mit Andacht
2-3.Gloria Allegro vivace
4-6. Credo:Allegro ma non troppo
7-8. Sanctus: Adagio. Mit Andacht Benedictus: Andante molto cantabile e non troppo mosso
9-10. Agnus Dei: Adagio