Martyn Brabbins: Cyril Scott Neptune, Poem of the Sea, BBC Philhamonic

Labels: ,

Neptune by Cyril Scott. Conducted by Martyn Brabbins with the BBC Philhamonic.

I. Andante - Molto Maestoso - 00:00
II. Con Moto - Largo - 5:36
III. Tempo Di Valse - Molto Cantbile - Wistfully- 7:18
IV. Allegro Agitato - 10:59
V. Adagio Molto - Tristamente - 20:28

The score of Neptune is a revised version of Scott's symphonic poem Disaster at Sea, a programmatic account of the sinking of the Titanic. The work evokes a cold calm sea, becoming more animated as the ship sails on its way. Later the trombones clearly evoke a foghorn and a tremendous climax follows. A series of storm episodes ensue before the whole orchestra takes up a lament for loss at sea.