Philip Glass Violin Concertos Nos 1 and 2

Labels: , ,
Philip Glass Violin Concerto (1987)

Philip Glass Violin Concerto No.2 'The American Four Seasons'
Robert McDuffie, soloist
Marin Alsop conducting London Philharmonic Orchestra
- prologue and mvt. 1

- mvt. 3

- mvt. 4

This concerto has its perfect mate in Robert McDuffie, because the Glass style opens music up to the sensibilities of the performer more than the work of most composers, and McDuffie pours into it amazing amounts of sensitivity and interpretation." - Marvin Cohodas

"Philip Glass' new violin concerto is the most beautiful music, by far, to come from him in at least a decade." The Buffalo News

"Few premieres receive the kind of instantaneous standing ovation, cheers and prolonged applause that greeted soloist Robert McDuffie following the whirlwind final bars of Philip Glass's American Four Seasons" - The Classical Review