Stefan Jackiw: Korngold Violin Concerto, Carlos Kalmar

Labels: , ,

Stefan Jackiw performing Korngold Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35 (1945)

Orquesta Sinfonica de RTVE
Carlos Kalmar - Conductor

00:02 Moderato Nobile
09:38 Romanze
18:54 Allegro assai vivace

- Moderato nobile: The magnificent soaring violin solo which opens the concerto is a theme from Another Dawn (1937), running over two octaves in five notes. Juarez (1939) provided the second theme, more expansive and reliant upon the orchestra.

- Romanze: A solo clarinet introduces the principal theme of the slow movement, quoted from Anthony Adverse (1936) and revisited after a contrasting middle section that seems to have been uniquely composed for the concerto.

- Allegro assai vivace: The most demanding movement for the soloist begins with a staccato jig, which leads to a second theme based on the main motif from The Prince and the Pauper (1937) and builds up to a virtuoso climax.