Alfred Brendel: Beethoven Piano Concerto 3, Heinz Wallberg

Labels: , ,

Beethoven -Piano Concerto No. 3 In C Minor, Op. 37 ,
Alfred Brendel, piano.
Vienna Symphony Orchestra.
Heinz Wallberg, conductor.

Allegro Con Brio.

The Piano Concerto No. 3 in C minor, Op. 37, was composed by Ludwig van Beethoven in 1800 and was first performed on 5 April 1803, with the composer as soloist. During that same performance, the Second Symphony and the oratorio Christ on the Mount of Olives were also debuted.The composition was dedicated to Prince Louis Ferdinand of Prussia. The first primary theme is reminiscent of that of Mozart's 24th Piano Concerto.

The concerto is scored for 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets in B-flat, 2 bassoons, 2 horns in E-flat, 2 trumpets in C, timpani, strings and piano soloist.

I. Allegro con brio
This movement is known to make forceful use of the theme (direct and indirect) throughout.

II. Largo
The second movement, which is in E major, opens with the solo piano. The opening is marked with detailed pedalling instructions.

III. Rondo -- Allegro
The finale is in a sonata-rondo form. The movement begins in C minor with an agitated theme played only by the piano. The movement ends with a C major coda marked presto.