Mozart Masonic Funeral Music Best Performances

Labels: , , , , , , ,

Staatskapelle Dresden, Colin Davis

Mozart Maurerische Trauermusik K477
Bruno Walter - Orc. National de France - 1956

New Philharmonia Orchestra, Rafael Kubelik

Wiener Philharmoniker, Nikolaus Harnoncourt
Musikverein, Vienna, 26 9/2004

Le Concert des Nations, Jordi Savall

New Philharmonia Orchestra conducted by Edo de Waart

London Symphony Orchestra, István Kertész

Le Concert d'Astrée - Louis Langrée

The Maurerische Trauermusik (or Masonic Funeral Music) in C minor, K. 477 (K. 479a), for orchestra, is a piece composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart in 1785 in his capacity as a member of the Freemasons. According to Mozart's own catalogue, the piece was composed in July 1785. It was performed during a Masonic service held on 17 November 1785 in memory of two of Mozart's Masonic brethren, Duke Georg August of Mecklenburg-Strelitz and Count Franz Esterházy von Galántha, members of the Viennese aristocracy. The instrumental version of the Maurerische Trauermusik received its premiere later, in a concert on 9 December 1785.
The Maurerische Trauermusik is unusual in other respects, including its use of the Gregorian chant tonus peregrinus, and its inclusion of the basset horn (the latter trait due to fellow Freemason Vincent Springer playing the instrument at the premiere).