Akira Ifukube Symphonic Fantasia Nos 1, 2, 3

Labels: ,

Symphonic Fantasia No. 1 (Part 1)

Symphonic Fantasia No. 1 (Part 2)

Symphonic Fantasia No. 2 (Part 1)

Symphonic Fantasia No. 2 (Part 2)

Symphonic Fantasia No. 3 (Part 1)

Symphonic Fantasia No. 3 (Part 2)

Symphonic Fantasia, a three part symphony comprised of the composer's most popular film scores of the kaiju eiga ("monster movie") genre. Originally against the idea of turning his movie music into classical pieces because he didn't feel they could be appreciated outside of the films themselves, he eventually gave into popular demand and wrote the following piece, first performed in 1983.

The motifs that he uses in this first part is as follows:

Godzilla Appears (Mothra vs. Godzilla)
Intermezzo (Battle in Outer Space)
Godzilla's Theme (Godzilla)
Faro Island Chant (King Kong vs. Godzilla)
Night Music (Battle in Outer Space)
Baragon's Theme (Frankenstein vs. Baragon)
Godzilla vs. Rodan (Ghidorah, the Three-Headed Monster)