John Storgårds: Ernst Mielck Violin Concerto, Sakari Oramo

Labels: , ,

Ernst Mielck - Konzertstück in D major, Op. 8, for violin and orchestra (1898)

A work for solo violin and orchestra by Finnish composer Ernst Mielck (1877-1899), who studied composition under Max Bruch. Over the course of his all too brief career, Mielck composed a symphony, a concert overture, concertante works for violin and piano, a string quartet, a string quintet, and a few other pieces of chamber music. In Finland, Mielck met little success on account of his lack of overt nationalism; his music was perceived to adhere more closely to the musical tradition of his ancestral Germany. However, the premiere of Mielck's 1897 Symphony was well received in Germany, and its success inspired Jean Sibelius to attempt the composition of his own first symphony. Mielck's career was cut short, however, by tuberculosis, and he passed away a few days before his 22nd birthday.

Violinist: John Storgårds
Conductor: Sakari Oramo
Radion Sinfoniaorkesteri (Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra)