8 Great Performances of Arvo Pärt Frates

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Vadim Repin and Nikolai Lugansky play Arvo Pärt's Fratres. 2004, in Tokyo

Arvo Pärt: Fratres, for violin, string orchestra and percussion (1977, 1992)
Gil Shaham, violin
Roger Carlsson, percussion
Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra
Neeme Järvi

Arvo Pärt: Fratres
Gidon Kremer, violin / Keith Jarrett, piano

Arvo Pärt: Fratres For Cello And Piano.
This is the version used in the brilliant film 'There Will Be Blood'

Arvo Pärt: Fratres for Cello and Harp
Petr Nouzovsky - Cello
Katerina Englichova - Harp

Arvo Pärt: Frates for strings and percussion
Antal Eisrich and Miklós Kovács, percussion, Strings of Hungarian State Opera Orchestra, Tamás Benedek.

Arvo Pärt: Fratres (The 12 Cellists of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra)

Arvo Pärt: Fratres for wind octet and percussion
The Orchestra Of Flanders,
Rudolf Werthen

Fratres is a composition by the Estonian composer Arvo Pärt, existing in versions for a wide variety of instrumentations and exemplifying Pärt's Tintinnabuli style of composition. Each version has a duration of about 7 to 12 minutes.

It exists perhaps most prominently in its versions for violin, string orchestra, and percussion and for violin and piano. Most other versions are very similar to these two: for instance, the versions for viola and piano and cello and piano are almost exactly the same as the former, whereas the version for string quartet is more similar to the latter.

The first version for string quintet and wind quintet was written in 1977. Further versions were written over the years up to about 1992.

Fratres for strings and percussion
Fratres for violin, strings and percussion
Fratres for string quartet
Fratres for cello and piano
Fratres for eight cellos
Fratres for wind octet and percussion