David Zinman: Rimsky-Korsakov The Tale of Tsar Saltan, The Rotterdam Philharmonic

Labels: , ,

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov - The Tale of Tsar Saltan (with Flight of the Bumble-bee)

An opera in four acts with a prologue, seven scenes, by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov. The libretto was written by Vladimir Belsky, and is based on the poem of the same name by Aleksandr Pushkin. The opera was composed in 1899–1900 to coincide with Pushkin's centenary, and was first performed in 1900 in Moscow, Russia.

1. Tsar's Farewell and Departure
2. Tsarina in a Barrel at Sea (4:07)
3. The Flight of the Bumble-bee (11:52)
4. The Three Wonders (13:21)

The Rotterdam Philharmonic conducted by David Zinman