São Paulo Symphony Orchestra Short Videos Collection

Labels: , , , , ,

São Paulo Symphony Orchestra (OSESP - Orquestra Sinfônica do Estado de São Paulo)
Playlist 1

Playlist 2

Torre do Complexo Cultural Júlio Prestes / Sal...
Torre do Complexo Cultural Júlio Prestes / Sala São Paulo (Photo credit: São Paulo Ilustrada - Por Adriana Paiva)
Founded in 1954, the São Paulo Symphony Orchestra is the leading and largest orchestra in Latin America. Artists and conductors include many of the the best in the world, such as Rafael Fruhbeck de Burgos, Kurt Masur, Osmo Vanska, Pinchas Zukerman, Maria João Pires, Nelson Freire, Gennady Rozhdestvensky, Heinz Holliger, Paul Lewis, András Schiff, Antonio Meneses, Hilary Hahn, Emmanuel Pahud and Yuja Wang, to name just a few.

In February 2011, Marin Alsop was announced as the new Principal conductor for a period of five years, from 2012 to 2016. Brazilian conductor Celso Antunes will be Associate Conductor for the same 5-year period. Yan Pascal Tortelier, who was Principal Conductor from 2009 to 2011, will be Guest Conductor of Honor 2012-13.

With a roster of 115 orchestral musicians and 52 singers, Osesp performs over 120 concerts every season at its own, magnificent Sala São Paulo (a restored train station, inaugurated in 1999 as a 1500-seat concert hall). It also tours in the State of São Paulo, throughout Brazil, and abroad (South America, North America, and Europe).

Naomi Munakata, conductor

Osesp Quartet
Osesp Quartet is composed by one spalla, the violinist Emmanuele Baldini, and three other important leaders to the Orchestra: the violinist Davi Graton, the violist Peter Pas and the cellist Johannes Gramsh.