Karel Ancerl: Healy Willan Symphony 2, Toronto Symphony

Labels: ,

Symphony No. 2 in C minor (1948)
Healey Willan
Healey Willan
The Toronto Symphony Orchestra conducted by Karel Ancerl

I. Allegro energico
II. Adagio
III. Allegro
IV. Allegro energico

Healey Willan (1880-1968) was an Anglo-Canadian organist and composer. He composed more than 800 works including operas, symphonies, chamber music, a concerto, and pieces for band, orchestra, organ, and piano. He is best known for his religious music.