Herbert Blomstedt: Beethoven Symphony 5, Staatskapelle Dresden

Labels: ,
Beethoven Beethoven Symphony No.5 in C minor, Op.67

The Fifth Symphony was premiered on December 22, 1808 at a mammoth concert at the Theater an der Wien in Vienna consisting entirely of Beethoven premieres, and directed by Beethoven himself.

01. Allegro con brio
02. Andante con molto
03. Allegro
04. Allegro presto

Scored for piccolo, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, 3 trombones, timpani and strings.

Dedication to Prince Franz Joseph von Lobkowitz and Count Razumovsky.

Conductor: Herbert Blomstedt
Staatskapelle Dresden Orchestra

Apple iTunes   US iTunes, App Store, iBookstore, and Mac App Store   US iTunes, App Store, iBookstore, and Mac App Store