Juan José Mena: Jesús Guridi Symphony Pyrenaica

Labels: ,

Sinfonía pyrenaica (1945)
Conductor: Juan José Mena
Bilbao Symphony Orchestra

I. Andante sostenuto - Allegro molto moderato [0:00]
II. Presto non troppo [18:50]
III. Allegro brioso [34:20]

300x250 - NOOK Simple Touch™ 300x250 - NOOK Color™

An orchestral work by Spanish Basque composer Jesús Guridi (1886-1961), in which he attempts to express in music the "soul" of the Pyrenees Mountains. This is achieved in abstract terms, as there is no explicit programme for the symphony. Still, there is plenty of vivid imagery in the music and some of the main themes are derived from Basque folksongs.