New York Philharmonic series: 9/11 Concert in HD

Labels: , , , , , , ,

A Concert for New York for the Tenth Anniversary of 9/11
In remembrance and renewal on the tenth anniversary of September 11, Alan Gilbert and the New York Philharmonic give A Concert for New York, a free performance of Mahler's Symphony No. 2, Resurrection.

Watch in HD
1. Star Spangled Banner
2-6. Mahler Symphony No. 2 Resurrection.

Insights Series: In Times of Strife: Music Responds

Since the memorial concert for Abraham Lincoln in 1865, the New York Philharmonic has responded to tragic events by making music. Composer John Corigliano, who has composed a large-scale work for the Philharmonic commemorating the tenth anniversary of 9/11, and Philharmonic Archivist and Historian Barbara Haws will discuss the significance and curative power of commemoration through musical compositions and concerts. The evening includes performances of Mr. Corigliano's "One Sweet Morning" for voice and piano and Samuel Barber's Adagio for Strings, as well as an excerpt from the Philharmonic's 1963 television performance of Mahler's Second Symphony led by Leonard Bernstein three days after the assassination of President Kennedy.