Federico Maria Sardelli: Vivaldi NEW Discoveries

Labels: , , , , ,

Antonio Vivaldi: New Discoveries

Federico Maria Sardelli (conductor), Soloists: Romina Basso (mezzo), Paolo Pollastri (oboe), Enrico Casazza (violin), Bettina Hoffmann (cello)

Orchestra: Modo Antiquo
Conductor: Federico Maria Sardelli
Composer: Antonio Vivaldi

Federico Maria Sardelli, who has made several contributions to the Vivaldi Edition, was appointed to take charge of the Vivaldi catalogue. It is now his job to authenticate any further manuscripts that turn up in what may be Vivaldi's hand. Over the past ten years, thanks in part to the stimulus of the Vivaldi Edition project, several manuscripts by Vivaldi have surfaced in different countries. Federico Maria Sardelli has decided to record the finest of them. So this recording does indeed present new works by Vivaldi.
The content is very diverse, ranging from a motet, which is performed by the mezzo-soprano Romina Basso, to an Oboe Concerto, a Recorder Concerto, arias and other gems. There is a clear pattern to these discoveries. Almost all come from peripheral sources, and most appear to originate from special commissions at the margin of the composer's activity. The most imposing of the new works introduced here is a solo motet for contralto and strings, Vos invito, barbarae faces, RV811, only recently unearthed by Valerio Losito and Renato Criscuolo in the library of the basilica of S. Francesco, Assisi. The work is anonymous but is attributed to Vivaldi persuasively by Federico Maria Sardelli on the basis of several passages recurring in authenticated Vivaldi works.

1. Aria 'Se lento ancora il fulmine' - I Allegro molto
2. Concerto for 2 Violins, Cello, and Strings in G Minor RV 578a - I Adagio e spiccato
3. II Allegro
4. III Largo e spiccato
5. IV Allegro
6. Flute Sonata in G Major RV 806 - I Andante
7. II Allegro
8. III Largo
9. IV Allegro
10. Motet 'Vos invito' - I Allegro assai
11. II Recitativo
12. III [Largo]
13. IV Presto
14. Violin Sonata in D Major, RV 798 - I Andante
15. II [Allegro]
16. III Adagio
17. IV Allegro
18. Concerto in G Minor for Oboe, Cello & Strings - I Allegro
19. II Largo
20. III Allegro cantabile
21. Aria 'Se fide quanto belle', RV 749.32 [Vivace]
22. Violin Sonata in D Major, RV 810 - I Andante
23. II Allegro
24. III Largo
25. IV Allegro