Ryusuke Numajiri: Qunihico Hashimoto Symphony 1

Labels: ,

Qunihico Hashimoto - Symphony No. 1 in D Major (1940)

Conducted by Ryusuke Numajiri with the Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra

I. Maestoso - 00:00
II. Allegretto - 16:26
III. Tema Con Variazioni E Fuga - 27:35

Hashimoto's Symphony No.1 in D (1940) was written to celebrate the 2600th year of the Emperor. When the United States asked Japan to open diplomatic relations and trade in 1853, the Samurai régime, which had kept the country closed for some two hundred years, rapidly began to collapse, and a new government by the Emperor, who had before been a mere titular head, was established in 1868