Xu Ke: Monti Czardas on erhu

Labels: , ,

Czardas (Monti)
Soloist: Xu Ke, erhu
Conductor: Taizo Takemoto
Kanagawa Philharmonic Orchestra
27 February 2005

Xu Ke is widely considered to be the greatest Erhu player of the 20th and 21st centuries. He has expanded the range of the Erhu from two to more than four octaves and has developed techniques such as double-stopping, artificial harmonics in high position, and graduated prestissimo staccato for Erhu. In defiance of the mechanical limitations of the Erhu, he has also developed a "dual tone melody" capability. In addition to his outstanding interpretation and technique, he is well-known for performing over 100 new works, while adapting classical music to fit within the repertoire of the Erhu. He performs with numerous world orchestras, as well as renowned chamber groups and pianists.